Formula 1: Just eight races

Chase Carey and Brawn

F1 has confirmed the dates of the first eight races. They will all be held in Europe. The championship will start with a double closed-door program on 5 and 12 July at the Red Bull Ring (Austria).

The second Austrian event will be known as the Styrian Grand Prix. That name comes from the region where the track is located. A F1 race at the Red Bull Ring.

The World Cup will continue in Hungary and then there will be another double program at Silverstone (August 2 and 9).

As with Austria, the name of the second event on English territory will be different: it will be called the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix.

This model of changing the nomenclature will also be used in MotoGP. The World Championship will start with a double round in Jerez (19 and 26 July). The second race will be called the Grand Prix of Andalusia. Barcelona, Spa and Monza will complete the F1 tour of the Old Continent.

Focusing on the Spanish event, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya will host the sixth round of the calendar, from 14 to 16 August.

It will be the 30th edition of the Grand Prix. And it will be marked, like the rest, by the absence of fans, with the safety and health of all involved being the top priority. In line with this, the following measures are planned for F1: all members of the paddock will be tested regularly; there will be no spectators in the stands; the number of members of each team, of the FIA and also of F1 itself, will be reduced to a minimum; isolated trips (transfers will be by means of charter flights); and, finally, the aim is to maintain social distance at all times.

Refund possibility, it is a statement issued by the Circuit ensures that spectators holding tickets to the Spanish F1 Grand Prix have different options, among which a refund is offered. The relevant application may be made through an on-line platform that will be available from 15 June. An F1 race at the Circuit.

Be that as it may, this figure of eight races already ensures by regulation that the championship is valid. It remains to be seen whether the organizers will be able to find a way to take the World Cup outside Europe given the difficulties presented by the corona-virus crisis.

F1 has made it known that the next races to these initial eight will be announced later. The final schedule is expected to have a total of 15-18 races. Chase Carey, CEO of F1, said that they are very focused on all events to have extreme security to avoid contagion:

Over the past few weeks we have been working tirelessly with all our partners, the FIA and the teams to create a revised opening schedule for 2020 that will allow us to restart the races as safely as possible.

We are happy to be able to set our eight race opening calendar today and look forward to publishing our full calendar in the coming weeks.

Chase Carey – Liberty Media

Carey is confident that as time goes by, there will be an audience at the next races at these eight initials:

While we are currently waiting for the season to start without fans, we hope that in the coming months the situation will allow us to welcome them back once it is safe to do so.

However, we know that the return of F1 will be welcomed by fans of the sport around the world.

Chase Carey – Liberty Media

On the other hand, Formula 2 has also confirmed the dates of its first eight races of the 2020 season this Tuesday. Calendar 2020 confirmed:

  • 5 July: Red Bull Ring (Austria)
  • 12 July: Red Bull Ring (Austria) Styrian GP
  • 19 July: Hungaroring (Hungary)
  • 2 August: Silverstone (Great Britain)
  • 9 August: Silverstone (Great Britain) 70th Anniversary Grand Prix
  • 16 August: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (Spain)
  • 30 August: Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
  • 6 September: Monza (Italy)
About Kelly Felix 183 Articles
Webmaster, karting pilot, internet business man (From Zero to $50 million), lover of Formula 1 and racing.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.